Displaying items by tag: suffragette - Rosie Garland
Saturday, 09 June 2018 12:17

Manchester Histories Festival launch

Manchester Histories Festival at Manchester Art Gallery

7th June 2018
The Manchester Histories Festival launch was a great event. I was invited to read my commissioned piece 'Syrinx' next to the painting that inspired it (‘Syrinx’ by Arthur Hacker). And I was surrounded by the paintings targeted in the 1913 Suffragette direct action – a truly atmospheric experience.
Proud to share the evening with marvellous writers Kate Feld, Michelle Green & Maz Hedgehog.
Thank you Manchester Histories Festival!

Published in News
Soapbox, Manchester Histories Festival

Friday 8th June
5.30pm – free event
All Saint’s Park,
Grosvenor Square,
Oxford Road
Manchester, M15 6BH

Manchester Histories Festival returns across Greater Manchester for a long-weekender from 7-11 June 2018 with the theme protest, democracy, and freedom of speech. For Manchester Histories Festival 2018 and in partnership with Manchester Metropolitan University, we're presenting ‘Soapbox’ from 8th-10th June where we will create a Speakers Corner at All Saint’s Park off Oxford Road. The park will be transformed artists from the region, with a hustings, new visual identity, and food and drink stalls.
On Friday 8th June at c.5.30pm, Rosie Garland will be performing her spoken word piece about the Suffragette direct action in Manchester Art Gallery, which took place in April 1913.

https://manchesterhistories.co.uk/

Published in Gig List

3rd May 2018 - Very excited to announce paperback publication day of The Night Brother!
With a superb new cover.

Published in Gig List
Cherie Bebe’s Burlesque Revue

Matt and Phreds
64 Tib Street,
M4 1LG Manchester

Sunday 10th December 2017
Doors at 7pm with the show starting at 8pm.

Enjoy an evening of live cabaret entertainment, music and burlesque debauchery featuring performances from some of the finest burlesque performers in the UK, held at Manchester's iconic Matt & Phreds.

Starring:
Cherie Bebe ~ Burlesque sensation and producer of Cherie Bebe's Burlesque Revue

Kitty & Lilibet The Time Travelling Suffragettes ~ Back by popular demand after their debut at Cherie Bebe's Burlesque Revue 2016.

and compere Jonathan Mayor ~ The cheeky and utterly fabulous diva of the night.

The event will be taking place on

Tickets are £8 (plus booking fee) if booked in advance via billetto / £10 on the door. Tickets are nonrefundable.

PLEASE CALL MATT & PHREDS TO RESERVE SEATING ONCE YOUR TICKETS HAVE BEEN PURCHASED AS THE TABLES ARE STRICTLY LIMITED ON A FIRST COME FIRST SERVE BASIS AND WE DO SELL OUT.

0161 273 5495

www.mattandphreds.com

Here is a sneak peek of what to expect at Cherie Bebe's Burlesque Revue

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DHpqFwp4dEg

Published in Gig List
The Time-Travelling Suffragettes, Louder than Words Festival, Manchester

The Principal Manchester
Oxford Street
Manchester
M60 7HA

Sat 11 November 2017
18:15 – 19:30 GMT

Armed with banners, a twinkle in their eye and a spanner or two for throwing into the works, Kitty and Lilibet have travelled to the present day to raise their voices in rousing song. Inspired by the enduring influence of Music Hall and its power to subvert whilst being thoroughly entertaining, they cast a queerly suffragette eye upon songs such as The Boy I Love Is Up In The Gallery, I’m Shy Mary Ellen and Hold Your Hand Out, Naughty Boy – and many more. The duo combines the musical talents of multi-instrumentalist Éilish McCracken (Rose McDowall, Sgt Buzfuz, Slate Islands, Ida Barr) and cabaret performer, novelist & lyricist Rosie Garland (The March Violets, Rosie Lugosi the Vampire Queen).

Tickets £8 – available here
https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/time-travelling-suffragettes-tickets-36245562453

http://louderthanwordsfest.com/

Published in Gig List

Absolutely delighted – ‘The Night Brother’ has received good reviews in both The Times and The Sunday Times!

“The Night Brother by Rosie Garland is a rich and ambitious tale set in late Victorian Manchester… Garland’s prose is a delight: playful and exuberant. There are shades of Angela Carter in the mad world she creates... Full marks for style”.

Toni Senior 3rd June 2017
Full review here:
https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/historical-fiction-w09l76frb

“Echoes of Angela Carter’s more fantastical fiction reverberate through this exuberant tale… Garland’s narrative is enjoyably energetic.”
Nick Rennison 18th June 2017

Full review here:
https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/books-fiction-at-a-glance-all-the-good-things-by-clare-fisher-the-answers-by-catherine-lacey-the-night-brother-by-rosie-garland-splash-by-stephen-glover-the-idiot-by-elif-batuman-gkbbb3852

 

 

Published in News

Armed with banners, a twinkle in their eye and a spanner or two for throwing into the works, Kitty and Lilibet have travelled to the present day to raise their voices in rousing song. They perform updated versions of nineteenth-century popular classics, making lyrical stops along the way in their musical journey towards the twenty-first century.

The duo combine the musical talents of multi-instrumentalist Éilish McCracken (Rose McDowall, Sgt Buzfuz, Slate Islands, Ida Barr) and cabaret performer, novelist & lyricist Rosie Garland (The March Violets, Rosie Lugosi the Vampire Queen).

Inspired by the enduring influence of Music Hall and its power to subvert whilst being thoroughly entertaining, they cast a queerly suffragette eye upon songs such as The Boy I Love Is Up In The Gallery, I’m Shy Mary Ellen and Hold Your Hand Out, Naughty Boy – and many more.

Kitty and Lilibet remind us that suffragettes were far more than Nice Ladies In Hats, that the battles are never done, and how far we still have to go.

In Kitty’s words – ‘we are historical oddities from a time of struggle and dissent. We beg your forbearance! After all, 21st century audiences cannot possibly comprehend what it is like to live in a world which harbours inequality…’

YouTube links:

‘I’m Bi, Mary Ellen, I’m Bi’ at Club Big, Rock Art, HOMEMcr
https://youtu.be/rbt16fUeNAY

‘A Little Of What You Fancy’ at Club Big, Rock Art, HOMEMcr
https://youtu.be/fMZVYsdLDnA

Published in Suffragettes

Cherie Bebe's Burlesque Revue

Matt and Phreds
64 Tib Street, M4 1LG Manchester

20:00 - 22:30

Come and celebrate our 3rd birthday in true burlesque style.

We have a very special lineup taking to the stage at Manchester's iconic Matt and Phreds.

Starring:
We have the absolutely fabulous Lady Wildflower join us on stage. Voted in the Top 20 UK Burlesque Performers of 2014 & 2015 by 21st Century Burlesque She certainly is one not to miss.

We are very excited to announce that Rosie Garland, performer, award winning writer, singer for The March of Violets and her vampire Queen / mistress of ceremonies Rosie Lugosi will be taking to the stage alongside the wonderful Eilish with a brand new act
Kitty and Lilibet, Polyhymnian Suffragettes.

The devine and cheeky Freida Nipples will be joining us on stage also all the way from London!

Hosted by our resident compare, the diva of the night, the hilarious and naughty Jonathan Mayor.

....And of course Cherie Bebe.

https://billetto.co.uk/en/events/cherie-bebes-burlesque-revue-november2016

Tickets are £8 if booked in advance via billetto / £10 on the door.

Doors at 7pm with the show starting at 8pm.

Matt and Phreds Happy Hour Offer ~ 'Buy two alcoholic drinks get a free pizza' will be available on the evening between 7pm-9pm!

PLEASE CALL MATT & PHREDS TO RESERVE SEATING ONCE YOUR TICKETS HAVE BEEN PURCHASED AS THE TABLES ARE STRICTLY LIMITED ON A FIRST COME FIRST SERVE BASIS AND WE DO SELL OUT.
0161 273 5495
www.mattandphreds.com

Published in Gig List
Thursday, 20 March 2014 11:01

The Night Brother - hardback out now

The Night Brother – hardback out now. Paperback coming 3rd May 2018!

From the author of The Palace of Curiosities and Vixen comes a dazzling and provocative new novel of adventure, mystery and belonging. The Night Brother shifts tantalisingly between day and night, exploring questions of identity, sexual equality and how well we know ourselves. Perfect for fans of Angela Carter, Sarah Waters, Erin Morgenstern.
Praise from Stella Duffy - "A tumble of poetry, desire and passion... intriguing and delicious."

Rich are the delights of late nineteenth-century Manchester for young siblings Edie and Gnome. They bicker, banter, shout and scream their way through the city’s streets, embracing its charms and dangers. But as the pair mature, it is Gnome who revels in the night-time, while Edie is confined to the day. She wakes exhausted each morning, unable to quell a sickening sense of unease, and confused at living a half-life.
Reaching the cusp of adulthood, Edie’s confusion turns to resentment and she is determined to distance herself from Gnome once and for all. But can she ever be free from someone who knows her better than she knows herself?
Exploring the furthest limits of sexual and gender fluidity, this is a story about the vital importance of being honest with yourself. Every part of yourself. After all, no-one likes to be kept in the dark.

The first reviews have come in for ‘The Night Brother’ – and they’re good. Wow!

"Echoes of Angela Carter's more fantastical fiction reverberate through this exhuberant tale... Garland's narrative is enjoyably energetic." - Nick Rennison, The Sunday Times 18.6.2017

"A rich and ambitious tale set in late Victorian Manchester... Garland's prose is a delight: playful and exhuberant. There are shades of Angela Carter in the mad world she creates... Full marks for style.' - Toni Senior, The Times 3.6.2017

Thank you to Happy Meerkat and Little Bookness Lane for loving my words.

“Once again I find myself lost in the reverie of Rosie Garland’s exquisite writing. Extraordinarily enchanting, The Night Brother’s emotional bounty caresses each page… Embracing the intimacies and complexities of the heart and soul, The Night Brother doesn’t feel like a story, but a delectable gift. All that remains is for me to offer a thunderous round of applause for what is simply an expressive, breath-taking wonder.”
Little Bookness Lane – read the full text here
https://littlebooknesslane.wordpress.com/2017/05/25/book-review-the-night-brother-by-rosie-garland/

“The Night Brother is a wonderful historical fiction novel with an amazing and intriguing twist… From the moment I read the first page I was hooked… A real exciting and also thought-provoking page-turner that I can really recommend.”
Happy Meerkat – read the full text here
https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1888724819

Published in Fiction

News and Events